Non-Executive Directors

Non-Executive Directors

Kenneth Ludlam

Kenneth Ludlam, Non-Executive Director

Kenneth Ludlam is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. Having trained at a medium sized firm in Marylebone, he moved post-qualification to become a Manager at Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co. (now KPMG). He left the profession in 1972 to join the Bowater Corporation as a financial controller, subsequently helping to set up the Bowater Arabia subsidiary. He joined Hanson PLC in 1977, starting as Group Financial Controller and later becoming Group Treasurer and Associate Director for Finance. In 2002 he took on the role of Head of Internal Audit and Risk Management, with responsibility for corporate governance, Turnbull reporting and the establishment and running of the internal audit department.

Since retiring from Hanson he has held a number of non-executive appointments with the Cabinet Office, Ministry of Defence, Department for Work and Pensions, Ministry of Justice and, most recently, the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre. He currently sits on Defra's Audit & Risk Committee and is an external member of the Corporation of the City of London's Audit & Risk Management Committee and Police Performance and Resource Management Sub Committee.

Kenneth is also a Chartered Management Accountant, a Fellow of the Association of Corporate Treasurers and a member of the Institute of Taxation

. Kathryn Cearns, Non-Executive Director

Kathryn Cearns OBE

Kathryn was appointed as a non-executive director of the UK Supreme Court in October 2017 and is the Chair of our Remuneration Committee.

A chartered accountant with extensive senior level experience in both the public and private sectors. Kathryn was chairman of the Financial Reporting Advisory Board to HM Treasury from 2010 to 2016 and was Chairman of the ICAEW Financial Reporting Committee for 10 years up to the end of 2017. Her past roles include as a project director at the UK Accounting Standards Board (now the Financial Reporting Council) and for many years as the consultant accountant for an international law firm.

Kathryn currently holds a number of non-executive, trustee and advisory appointments most notably as a member of the External Audit Committee at the International Monetary Fund, a non-executive director at Highways England and a member of the Group Audit and Risk Committee at the Department for Transport, a non-executive board member and member of the Audit Committee at Companies House, a Non-executive director at The Property Ombudsman and as a trustee of Royal British Legion Industries. She is also on the Council of the ICAEW.